Province of Teramo

The Province of Teramo is made up of 47 municipalities. It is washed by the Adriatic Sea to east, it borders Marche region to north, the Province of Pescara to southeast, the Province of L’Aquila to southwest and Lazio region to west. The provincial territory slopes down from the highest summits of Apennines (Gran Sasso d’Italia massif) to the Adriatic sea, through fertile hills covered by olive groves and vineyards. If the agricultural countryside dominates in the valleys of the Piomba, Vomano, Tordino and Salinello rivers and the valley of the Vibrata stream, the Teramo coast is renowned for its beach towns: Silvi, Pineto, Roseto degli Abruzzi, Giulianova, Tortoreto, Alba Adriatica, Martinsicuro. The mountains, protected by the National Park of Gran Sasso and Laga Mountains, shows wonderful scenarios such as the Valley of a Hundred Falls, Prati di Tivo and the Salinello Gorges.

The capital of Province, Teramo, is rich in Roman and medieval history. Other cities of art are Atri, Campli, Giulianova, and the most beautiful Italian villages Civitella del Tronto and Castelli. The Cathedral of Teramo, the Cathedral of Atri and the Abbey of St. Maria di Propezzano are just a sample of places of worship in this province. Nature is also protected by the Tower of Cerrano Marine Protected Area, the Nature Reserves Badlands of Atri, Castel Cerreto and Borsacchio (still to be implemented).

The Adriatic railway and port of Giulianova guarantee excellent land and sea connections to the Province of Teramo.

This entry was posted in Province, Teramo and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply