Province of Chieti

The Province of Chieti is the second-broadest province in Abruzzo. It is made up of 104 municipalities. A wild boar is its symbol. The capital town is the very ancient city of Chieti, the Murrucina town of Teate.

The provincial territory spreads from the Apennines to the Adriatic Sea. It borders the province of Pescara northwest, the Province of L’Aquila southwest, Molise southeast. The mountainous municipalities of the Province are located on the sides of Majella and Frentani Mountains. The coastal towns are renowned for the stunning mix of land and seascapes on the wonderful Trabocchi Coast. The countryside yields fine olive oil and wines. Montepulciano d’Abruzzo is produced and delivered in the world by many wineries of the Province of Chieti.

In addition to the capital town, the cities of art are Lanciano, Vasto, Guardiagrele and Ortona. The main rivers are: Pescara, on the border with the Province of Pescara, Sangro, Aventino and Trigno, on the border with Molise. The lakes of Bomba and Casoli are created by manmade dams respectively on Sangro and Aventino rivers. Many nature reserves (Punta Aderci, Lake of Serranella, Fir Forest of Rosello, Live Oak Forest of Torino di Sangro, Verde River Waterfall, Ripari di Giobbe, Punta dell’Acquabella, Grotta delle Farfalle (Cave of Butterflies), Wood of Don Venanzio and the Majella National Park have been instituted to protect the environment of the provincial territory, waiting for the National Park of Teatina Coast to be implemented.

The richness in history, nature, food and wines make the Province of Chieti an ideal tourist destination for good summer and winter holidays, visiting abbeys and castles, nature reserves and cities of art. The Adriatic railway, Abruzzo International airport and the Port of Ortona, the biggest in Abruzzo, are the gates to this marvelous Italian province.

This entry was posted in Chieti, Province and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply