Majella National Park

The Majella National Park, established in 1991, covers 74,095 hectares, mostly of mountain, around the big Majella massif and the Morrone mountains, in the provinces of Chieti, L’Aquila and Pescara. It includes 7 Nature Reserves, including the Nature Reserve of Orfento Valley and Lama Bianca Nature Reserve in Sant’Eufemia a Majella. The major peak is Mount Amaro (2,793 meters). The Majella National Park headquarters are in Guardiagrele.

In the park there is more than a third of the Italian plants. Between 800 and 1800 meters above sea level beech forests prevail, while the mountain pine dominates the landscape at higher altitudes. Among animal species, there are the Marsican bear, the Apennine wolf, the European lynx, the chamois of Abruzzo, the wild cat, the otter, the deer, the roe deer, the golden eagle, the peregrine falcon, the eagle-owl, the dotterel, the goshawk, the collared flycatcher and white-backed woodpecker, the viper of Orsini, the spectacled salamander and the yellow-bellied toad.

The Majella National Park is characterized by a rough and wild territory, with deep canyons carved by rushing rivers (Orta, Orfento, Foro, Alento, Aventino). In the Park there are many historic towns (Pacentro, Corfinio Pescocostanzo, San Valentino in Abruzzo Citeriore, Tocco da Casauria, Abbateggio, Serramonacesca) the art city of Sulmona and Guardiagrele, enchanting hermitages (San Bartolomeo in Legio, Santo Spirito, Sant’Onofrio) and some ski resorts (Passolanciano-Majelletta, Passo San Leonardo, Roccaraso-Aremogna) and spa (Caramanico Terme, Popoli).

This entry was posted in Chieti, L'Aquila, Mountain, Parks and nature, Pescara and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply